NDU Press and the NDU Foundation Congratulate the Winners of the 2022 Essay Competitions

DU Press hosted the final round of judging on May 12–13, 2022, during which 31 faculty judges from 18 participating professional military education (PME) institutions selected the best entries in each category. There were 97 submissions in this year's three categories—the second most entries ever. First Place winners in each of the three categories appear in the following pages.

Secretary of Defense National Security Essay Competition

The 16th annual competition is intended to stimulate new approaches to coordinated civilian and military action from



a broad spectrum of civilian and military students. Essays address U.S. Government structure, policies, capabilities, resources, and/or

practices and provide creative, feasible ideas on how best to orchestrate the core competencies of our national security institution.

1st Place Jeffrey D. Graham, Department of State

National War College
"Building an Enduring U.S.-India
Partnership to Secure a Free, Open, and
Prosperous Indo-Pacific Region"

2nd Place Lieutenant Colonel Steven J. Curtis, USA

U.S. Army War College
"A New Character: Rethinking
Intelligence for 2035"

3rd Place Lieutenant Colonel Kevin J. Consedine, USA

U.S. Army War College
"Be All You Can Be . . . Like Your Parents"

Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Strategic Essay Competition



This annual competition, in its 41^{st} year in 2022, challenges students at the Nation's joint PME institutions to write research papers

(5,000 words) or articles (1,500 words) about significant aspects of national security strategy to stimulate strategic thinking, promote well-written research, and contribute to a broader security debate among professionals.

Strategic Research Paper

1st Place Lieutenant Colonel Ryan Tate, USA U.S. Army War College "Transparent Cyber Deterrence"

2nd Place

Commander Von P.H. Fernandes, USN; Lieutenant Colonel Nita McQuitery, USAF; Major Lucas Hoffman, USA; and Major Ashley Gunn, USAF

Joint Forces Staff College-Joint and Combined Warfighting School "The World in 90 Minutes or Less: Rocket Logistics and Future Military Operations"

3rd Place

Lieutenant Commander Stephanie Pendino, USN; Major Robert K. Jahn, Sr., USA; and Mr. Kirk Pedersen, Defense Intelligence Agency Joint Forces Staff College-Joint and Combined Warfighting School "Declaratory U.S. Cyber Deterrence: Bringing Offensive Capabilities into the Light"

Strategy Article

1st Place

Captain Kimberly Sandberg, USN; Captain Kevin Pickard, Jr., USN; Lieutenant Colonel Jay Zwirblis, USAR; and Lieutenant Colonel Speight H. Caroon, USAF

Joint Forces Staff College–Joint and Combined Warfighting School "Health Diplomacy: A Powerful Tool in Great Power Competition"

2nd Place

Major Lim Wonho, Republic of Korea Air Force

Air Command and Staff College
"Implications of South Korea's Growing
'Middle Power Identity' in the East Asia
Policy"

3rd Place

Captain Jonathan J. Park, USAF Marine Corps University-Expeditionary

Warfare School

"Traumatic Brain Injuries: Improving the U.S. Military's Diagnoses Process"

JFQ 107, 4th Quarter 2022 **2022 Winners 21**

Joint Force Quarterly Maerz **Awards**

In its 7th year, the JFQ Maerz Awards, chosen by NDU Press staff, recognize the most influential articles from the previous year's four issues. Five outstanding articles were chosen for the Maerz Awards, named in honor of Mr. George C. Maerz, former NDU Press managing editor.

Forum

Daniel E. Rauch and Matthew Tackett "Design Thinking," JFQ 101 (2nd Quarter 2021)

JPME Today **Anand Toprani**

"Hydrocarbons and Hegemony," *JFQ* 102 (3rd Quarter 2021)

Commentary Montgomery McFate

"The Myths of Lyme Disease: Separating Fact from Fiction for Military Personnel," *JFQ* 100 (1st Quarter 2021)

Features

Brent D. Sadler

"Avoiding Great Power Phony Wars," JFQ 102 (3rd Quarter 2021)

Recall

Frank G. Hoffman

"Wartime Innovation and Learning," *JFQ* 103 (4th Quarter 2021)

Joint Doctrine Michael Clark, Erik Jorgensen, and Gordon M. Schriver

"Read the Manual: Reversing the Trends of Failure in NATO Humanitarian Interventions with Airpower," JFQ 103 (4th Quarter 2021)

Distinguished Judges

Thirty-one senior faculty members from 18 participating PME institutions took time out of their busy schedules to serve as judges. Their personal dedication and professional excellence ensured a strong and credible competition.

Front row, left to right: Dr. Brandy Lyn Brown, Marine Corps War College; Dr. Jeffrey A. Turner, Joint Forces Staff College-Joint Advanced Warfighting School; Dr. Nicholas M. Anthony, Jr., Joint Forces Staff College-Joint Combined Warfighting School; Dr. David P. Hadley, College of International Security Affairs; Dr. Elizabeth D. Woodward, Air War College; Dr. Richard P. Samuels, Air War College; Dr. John G. Terino, Air Command and Staff College; Dr. Jim Chen, College of Information and Cyberspace; Carl J. ("Cj") Horn III, Air Force Cyber College; Dr. Robert T. Davis II, Command and General Staff College; Ms. Leigh Caraher, U.S. Army War College; Dr. Antulio J. Echevarria II, U.S. Army War College;

Dr. Charles Chadbourn, U.S. Naval War College; Ms. Caroline V. Schweiter, NDU Press. Back row, left to right: Dr. John J. Church, NDU Press; Dr. Todd Holm, Marine Corps War College-Electronic Warfare School; Dr. Jeffrey D. Smotherman, NDU Press; Dr. Sinan Cidad, Marine Corps Staff College; Dr. Thomas Sheppard, Marine Corps Staff College; Dr. James R. Van de Velde, Eisenhower School for National Security and Resource Strategy; Mr. John O'Brien, College of Information and Cyberspace; Dr. William T. Eliason, NDU Press; Dr. Mark A. Bucknam, National War College; Captain Alex J. Lega, USAF, Air University Global College of PME; Dr. Amy R. Baxter, Air University Global College of PME; Dr. Paul J. Springer, Air Command and Staff College; Ms. Joanna E. Seich, NDU Press; Ms. Shira Klapper, NDU Press. Not shown: Dr. Donald W. Chisholm, U.S. Naval War College; Dr. Grant R. Highland, Joint Forces Staff College; Captain Todd S. Glasser, USN, National War College; Dr. James Kiras, School of Advanced Air and Space Studies; Dr. Nicholas E. Sarantakes, U.S. Naval War College; Dr. Naunihal Singh, U.S. Naval War College; Dr. Mark G. Sorensen, Command and General Staff College; Dr. Donald Stoker, Eisenhower School for National Security and Resource Strategy.

